'A great story that you can't put down!' - Reese WitherspoonLuckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll is an audacious, page-turning debut thriller that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins and Jodi Picoult.Her perfect life is a perfect lie . . . Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiance. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts . . .When a documentary producer invites Ani to tell her side of the chilling and violent incident that took place when she was a teenager at the prestigious Bradley school, she hopes it will be an opportunity to prove how far she's turned her life around since then. She'll even let the production company film her lavish wedding, the final step in her transformation.But as the wedding and filming converge, Ani's past threatens to come back and haunt her. And as her immaculate veneer starts to crack, she is forced to question: will breaking her silence destroy all that she has worked for - or, will it at long last, set Ani free?A New York Times bestseller, Luckiest Girl Alive has been optioned for film by Big Little Lies' Reese Witherspoon - in conjunction with Lionsgate films. 'Loved Gone Girl? We promise this is just as addictive.' - Good Housekeeping'Biting and shocking it kept me riveted from cover to cover. I absolutely loved it.' - Lauren Weisberger, author of The Devil Wears Prada
Les mer
You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you. Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.
Les mer
[A] huge summer read . . . one of those great stories that you can't put down! -- Reese Witherspoon * InStyle *Luckiest Girl Alive is a brilliant character study wrapped up in a can't-put-it-down thriller. Ani FaNelli, the luckiest girl of the title, will infuriate you with her sharp edges, intrigue you with her unexpected fragility and ultimately win your heart. I lost myself in this intelligently crafted novel and can't wait to read more from Jessica Knoll. -- Diane ChamberlainFresh, funny, biting and shocking- Luckiest Girl Alive kept me riveted from cover to cover. I absolutely loved it. -- Lauren Weisberger, author of The Devil Wears PradaI whipped through Luckiest Girl Alive. Razor sharp and unexpectedly thought provoking. -- Colette McBethWith the cunning and verve of Gillian Flynn but with a febrile intensity all its own, Jessica Knoll's Luckiest Girl Alive is a debut you won't want to miss. Sly, darkly funny and chilling-to-the bone, it gets under your skin and stays there. -- Megan AbbottThe freshest new voice . . . the best book I've read in a long time. -- Jane FallonAt turns funny, shocking, violent and heart-rending, Luckiest Girl Alive hooks its reader and doesn't let go. Jessica Knoll's twisted, twisting debut beautifully explores reinvention, retribution and redemption - and all the rawness in between. -- Miranda Beverly-WhittemoreThe most compelling debut novel I've read in years! Luckiest Girl Alive is intriguing, surprising, and even shockingly funny at times. And Ani FaNelli is a complex, heartbreaking, and unforgettable heroine. * John Searles *Luckiest Girl Alive is a wickedly well-plotted page-turner that lifts back the veil of Ani FaNelli's glamour and privilege to tread amongst the sharp emotional thorns lying beneath. Knoll's novel dazzles with humor, cultural insight, and thematic heft. -- Alissa Nutting, author of TampaLoved Gone Girl? We promise [Luckiest Girl Alive is] just as addictive * Good Housekeeping *At times, it's laugh-out-loud witty; at other times, it's very moving. We do not want to give any spoilers away because this is one of those books that the less you know about - the more enjoyable it is. But, definitely, definitely read it. * Stylist, 'Why You Need To Read Luckiest Girl Alive: 2015's Word-of-Mouth Breakout Book' *A knockout debut novel . . . completely enthralling . . . devilishly dark and fun * Publishers Weekly *When Ani FaNelli wants something, she gets it: the job, the body, the man. What starts as a Mean Girls-seeming story line transforms into something so dark, so plot-twistingly intense that...well, actually, no spoilers here * Marie Claire *As this multi-layered thriller develops, the dark shadows from her traumatic adolescence are laid bare, and a brooding sense of impending horror begins to ooze through this narrative. Add a cracker of a plot revelation half way through, and it becomes clear that this classy debut will appeal to those who like thrillers with sharp edges. * Sunday Mirror, book of the week *A dark and compelling coming-of-age story with a distinctive voice that pulls you in from the first page and keeps you hooked until the last. -- Victoria Walters, author of The Second Love of My Life"[Ani FaNelli is] a cross between Sex and the City's Carrie Bradshaw and Gone Girl's Amy Dunne. . . . Knoll's debut truly delivers and will keep readers engaged until the end * Library Journal *The perfect page-turner to start your summer. * People (Book of the Week) *Dark, twisty . . . razor-sharp writing . . . propulsive prose . . . [The] reveal is a real doozy--a legitimately shocking, completely unputdownable sequence that unfolds like a slow-motion horror film. It instantly elevates Luckiest Girl . . . and that momentum keeps going until its final pages. * Entertainment Weekly *The perfect kind of summer read: Nail-bitingly addictive, equal parts funny and twisted, and full of 'I never saw THAT coming' moments. * Glamour *Luckiest Girl Alive is crime fiction at its best . . . . Jessica Knoll is a writer to keep an eye on, especially after being compared to Gillian Flynn by Megan Abbott. . . . However, I have found enough personality in Knoll's debut novel to let her stand on her own, rather than label her 'the next Gillian Flynn.' . . . Luckiest Girl Alive is the ultimate critical companion to millennial femininity. * Los Angeles Review of Books *[Readers] probably won't leave Luckiest Girl Alive wishing they had a friend just like TifAni, but . . . if they liked Gone Girl, they'll be thrilled to see another woman who's allowed to be smart and mean, vulnerable and detestable. * Time.com *A stonker of a book. * The Sun *For anyone hankering after their next fix of twisty, turny thriller-lit. * Prima *
Les mer
You can run from your past, but the truth will always find you. Luckiest Girl Alive is an intense, compulsive debut thriller, described by Reese Witherspoon as 'the kind of book that grabs you and doesn't let go'.
Les mer

Produktdetaljer

ISBN
9781447286219
Publisert
2016
Utgiver
Vendor
Pan Books
Vekt
293 gr
Høyde
198 mm
Bredde
133 mm
Dybde
27 mm
Aldersnivå
01, G
Språk
Product language
Engelsk
Format
Product format
Heftet
Antall sider
416

Forfatter

Biographical note

Jessica Knoll has been a senior editor at Cosmopolitan and the articles editor at SELF. She grew up in the suburbs of Philadelphia and graduated from The Shipley School in Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, and from Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, New York. She lives in New York City with her husband. Luckiest Girl Alive is her first book.